Friday Meme: Where were you…?

Non-WoW content incoming!  I was tagged by Game Dame, so here I go…

September 11 Attacks

I was at work.  My husband came from next door to me that a plane had hit one of the World Trade Center Towers.  I had just ground some coffee beans and was pouring water in the back of the coffee pot.  I thought, “Huh, what an idiot,” assuming it was another one of the multitudes of small plane accidents that happens every year.  I imagined a little plane smacking into the side of the building like a bug on a windshield.  He told me that while the news was filming after it happened, they caught on film a second plane hitting… and I said, “Another plane?”  He explained that these were commercial planes, not little private planes.  I was stunned.

We managed to set up a small tv at work and watch the news.  We tried to get into the news sites on the internet,  but most of them were overloaded, so we just watched the little tv with bad reception.  We saw the reaired footage of the planes hitting and saw the Towers fall as it happened.  We gathered news from friends and family, managed to get in touch with our friend that lives in DC to make sure he was okay, sent notes to friends in NYC, wondering if they were all right.  Classes were canceled and most of us stayed at work anyway, just to be with people.

I’m still deeply affected by images of the Towers.  Seeing them in the background of an old movie or photograph of the skyline kills me.  When images of the Towers are exploited to try to push my emotional buttons, it makes me furious.  To me, this is unforgivable.

I can’t bring myself to watch any of the films about 9/11, but somehow I can’t wait to see Man on Wire.  (How did I never hear about this before?)  It looks amazing.

Challenger Shuttle Disaster

I was in sixth grade, and it was quite a big event since there was a school teacher going up in space.  They set up televisions in some of our classrooms and piled the classes in.

To be honest, I don’t remember if I actually saw it when it happened.  For some reason, I think I was out of the classroom that day, as I was part of a “gifted” program for advanced kids, where we were taken out of class one day a week to do various extra enriching activities (independent research projects, reading, etc).  I don’t know why they wouldn’t have had us watch the shuttle takeoff, too, but I sort of remember coming down the hall and hearing some boys describing the explosion, and I think that was the first I’d heard of it.  These boys were actually happy, yelling and smiling.  They thought it was pretty exciting that it blew up, like it had been part of an action movie.  I don’t think they understood the reality of what had happened.  I remember the teachers being upset, and talking to us all about it in the weeks after.  I know I saw the footage of the explosion many times over on the news, and the video (and audio) is pretty clear in my mind to this day.  I don’t think I was watching live when it happened though.

Hurricane Katrina

I don’t remember particularly where I was when I heard about the hurricane or the levees breaking.  I did follow the news a bit, and recognized how poorly it was handled and how out of control it became.  I had been to New Orleans for the first time in the years before, and I felt strangely grateful that I’d seen it before the devastation.  Some of the photos of the aftermath were pretty horrifying, though there were also reports of some people refusing to leave when transportation was offered.  Our local Humane Society received a fair number of cats and dogs that were found as the rescue efforts were underway, and I wanted to adopt them all.

Reagan Assassination Attempt

I was a very little kid.  This was when I was in kindergarten or first grade, and I remember hearing about it, but it didn’t really have much of an impact on me.  I became interested in it as a teenager, obsessed with horror novels and true crime stories, learning about Hinckley’s obsession with Jodie Foster, etc.  (My parents also apparently had a time share, or something like that, in Colorado that backed up to the place where Hinckley’s parents lived, so there was a bit of a real-life connection there.)

I do remember hearing about James Brady receiving the Presidential Medal of Freedom from Clinton though, and this made me cry.

John Lennon’s Death

Again, I was too young to understand the impact of this.  I was in kindergarten and had no idea who the Beatles were.

Kurt Cobain’s Death

I was in college.  I was never particularly a Nirvana fan (I was more a Stone Temple Pilots kind of girl), and it had been pretty clear in the years before that Cobain was not a stable person.  In other words, I didn’t find it surprising.  I thought it was sad for his family, of course, but he seemed primed for a drug overdose any day.  He’d shot himself, though apparently had drugs in his system at the time.

I did know people that were wrecked by this, and for some of them, I imagine it still hurts them.  He just wasn’t someone I felt a connection with or attachment to, through his music or anything else.

There were celebrity deaths that happened during my formative years that do still get to me though.  River Phoenix for one.  Jim Henson is another.  (If you grew up with the Muppets, you must watch this gem that Wara sent me a while back.)  I also miss Christopher Reeve.

Ok, now I’m sad.  Heh… time to catch up on some WoW reading and writing.

I won’t tag anyone specific, but please share if you feel so inclined.

Leave a Reply

