A Contest: Arthas

At first, he’d felt a little uncomfortable. The first few combatants in the ring were simple beasts pitted against one another, fighting to the death for no reason other than the enjoyment of the onlookers. “How are they treated prior to this?” Arthas had asked. He was fond of animals; it unsettled him to see them used so.

Langston had opened his mouth, but Blackmoore shushed him with a quick gesture. He had smiled, leaning back in his chaise lounge and snagging a bunch of grapes. “Well of course we want them at their fighting peak,” he said. “So they are captured and treated quite well. And as you can see, the bouts go quickly. If an animal survives and is not able to continue fighting again, we put him down at once, mercifully.”

Arthas hoped the man was not lying to him. A sick feeling in his gut told him Blackmoore probably was, but he ignored it. The feeling vanished when the fighting involved men against the beasts. As he watched, riveted, Blackmoore said, “The men are paid well. They in fact become minor celebrities.”

Not the orc, though. And Arthas knew it, and approved. That’s what he was waiting for — the chance to see Blackmoore’s pet orc, found as an infant and raised to be a fighter in these rings, in combat.

He was not disappointed. Apparently, everything up until now had been a warm-up for the crowd. When the doors creaked open and a huge green shape strode forward, everyone stood, roaring. Somehow Arthas found himself among them.

Thrall was enormous, appearing even larger because he was obviously so much healthier and alert than the other specimens Arthas had seen in the camps. He wore little armor and no helm, and green skin stretched tightly over powerful muscle. Too, he stood straighter than others. The cheering was deafening, and Thrall walked a circle around the ring, lifting his fists, turning his ugly face up to be showered with rose petals usually reserved for holidays.

“I taught him to do that,” Blackmoore said with pride. “It’s an odd thing, really. The crowd cheers for him, yet they come hoping every time he’ll get beaten.”

“Has he ever lost a bout?”

“Never, Your Highness. Nor will he. Yet people keep hoping, and the money keeps flowing.”

The above is an excerpt from Christie Golden’s wowcover_120smArthas: Rise of the Lich King, the new WoW book scheduled for release this month. (Read a longer excerpt here.) When I was contacted to see if I’d be willing to host a giveaway on my blog for copies of the book, I couldn’t resist.  They offered me an advance copy of the book, as well, though I was a bit slow on the response (due to work stuff), so haven’t received it yet.  I’ll certainly post my review as soon as I’m caught up on things.

In looking around the blogosphere, it appears that I am not the only one who was contacted by Marni, the woman organizing this promotion for Simon and Schuster.  I think this is a really cool thing that they’re doing for our corner of the WoW community.  Marni didn’t specifically ask that we do this, but I liked it that BBB posted a link to their opt-in alerts page along with his contest.  This is a very nice way to support Simon and Schuster and encourage them to continue these sorts of promotional giveaways.

The Contest

My initial thought was to have folks produce something creative related to WoW lore (particularly the Arthas story), but since 1) this is not particularly a lore-related blog, and 2) I know little about lore, I decided not to go this way.   Instead, I’d like to stick a little more closely to the blog’s roots in noobness, etiquette, and the joys of leveling and learning the game. Plus, in this book, we will be learning a bit about what Arthas, Thrall, & Co. were doing back when they were still leveling… ;)

To enter, all you need to do is respond to this post with a noobish confession.

Your Confession

Your confession can be long or short and related to any part of your progression through the game. (In other words, if you have a really funny raiding story, please do submit it.)  The more funny and cringeworthy, the better.  If something actually makes me laugh out loud or physically cringe in embarrassment for you, I might pop an extra copy of your name into the hat.  Readers are also welcome to add a vote for a story to receive such a bonus, as well.

Winning

As the contest closes, I’ll put all the entries in a hat (once or twice, depending on the funny/cringe quotient).  My lovely and impartial husband will then draw five winners, each of whom will receive a copy of the new Arthas book.

The Rules

Your mailing address must be in the US or Canada.  Not that it will be a huge issue, given the relatively low traffic here, but please just enter once.

I’ll close the contest on Friday, April 17th, noon, EST, and do the drawing that evening.  I’ll contact the winners by e-mail to get their addresses for Simon and Schuster, who will be mailing the books directly.

===

So, who will be the first to confess? :)

*poke poke*

/readies the soft cushions and the comfy chair

8 responses

  1. I suppose this might not be -much- of a confession… but here goes, I want a copy of the book! :)

    When I reached 70, I was fast tracking for a much needed raiding warlock. Of course, I needed some help getting caught up in gear to attend the raids. The guild I was in at the time had Kara on farm for badges and to rotate in alts and freshly minted 70s to get geared.

    I signed up to go, after having been benched on a couple raid progression nights due to my low spell damage. (Of course, it was embarrassing to be told in front of everyone to “go farm, so&so will be coming instead” although I did receive DKP for signing up and being on stand by) Anywho, so I was going along on the Kara run but only the healer/raid leader was well geared. The rest of us were pretty fresh.

    I ended up having to leave early because we’d been in there for over 4 hours and were still a few bosses shy of completion. We came to Illhoof. I died after sending my first shadow bolt. It crit. The tank couldn’t hold the aggro (and had been struggling the entire time.) I got a bit berated on vent and actually started crying. (omg, what a girl, right?)

    The next day I talked with my class leader and one of the guild officers about the run. He wanted to know how that raid leader handled things. I told him about my death (and really the only wipe I actually seemed to cause). His question was how much the SB crit for. When I told him, he laughed and said “That’s good, we need you putting up those numbers.”

    I guess my confession-ish really was about allowing myself to get upset enough to shed tears… it was not my most shining moment.

  2. Noob moments…

    Oh a contest and it’s a great one too. I actually want the book.

    Hmm, my first toon was an Alliance Night Elf Hunter I didn’t know about talent points until I hit level 44. I remember clicking on the funny looking icon and seeing all these points. When I asked in Guild Chat what all these points were for there was dead silence for a few seconds and someone politely told me that they were meant to spend based on which tree I choose. I still get teased about that.

    Holy Priest Noob Moment
    Picture it..

    This was my Holy Priests first time running any raid. The raid was Naxx. My Holy Priest had hit 70 a week before WOTLK hit the scene. I had ran a lot of instances from 20 – 80 and was fairly confident as a healer. I learned so much during the time and was ready for raiding. Anyway, this past December I received an invite from a in-game buddy (also a Holy priest) to join her in some healing fun. “You wanna heal for Naxx?” Sure! This was the third day of the raid and they were taking on Thaddeus. It was a lot to take in, instead of 4 other people there were 24 other people added to the mix, and they all seemed to know what they were doing. Epiced out, amazing stats… Then there was my Holy Priest, I had a few epics, working on more.

    The Raid leader runs down the fight to the noobs like me and yes I heard it all before. I read about it, watched videos, I did my homework, dang it! But… something didn’t compute. Now you’re supposed to run to a different side depending on your charge, right? Yeah, I know the raid leader reminded the noobs but for some reason that did not register. I automatically ran to the other side when it was time to ‘change.’ It was exhilarating. The first two times I was lucky since I had the correct charge; however, the third time I struck out big, and killed the people near me… including the main tank. You want to know something? I wasn’t alone in my noobness, a few others did the same thing. I still shake my head over that experience. ;-)

  3. I was 60 for almost 2 years before I was told you can right click items in your inventory with an open trade window. I was drop-dropping everything before then.

    And I was a level 22 NE hunter before discovering IF and SW. “This tram is SWEET!”

  4. Three comments, three winners! Grats, you guys. I’ll send you e-mails shortly.

    And thanks for sharing your confessions, too!

    I’ll share one I don’t think I’ve posted yet. Back in my BC days, as I was leveling my priest, I was heading into Underbog with a pug I had put together. As the tank pulled the first group, I realized that I hadn’t passed leader to him so that he could mark. I right clicked on his portrait and scrolled down to promote him. Instead, I misclicked and kicked him from the group. :-O

    “WTF!!!!” said one of the other people in the group. I quickly invited the tank back and apologized profusely. Ohhh, I was mortified. We all had a good laugh and proceeded to clear the place, but … /die

  5. @Ess, lol now that is funny. With my first Alliance toons, I remember telling a buddy how to /gquit and ended up kicking myself ot of my guild since I typed /gquit. Naturally I sent a whisper to my guild leader and explained what happened. They go a good laugh at that.

  6. I know the contest is over, but thought I’d comment anyway.

    When I first saw the tough hunk of bread in my inventory with the flavor text “Must remain seated while eating”, I thought that must be some tough bread indeed!

  7. Dang, I missed the contest:( Oh well, I’ll share too.
    A gnome warlock was one of my first toons I made back in Vanilla WoW. I did not train fear on him from the trainer until the mid 40’s. My thought behind this was that I wanted to fight the mobs, not scare them away…I also had about even talent points in every tree!

    Cheers.

  8. Aw shucks, that’s what I get for letting my blog reader explode with unread posts.

    But I have a confession too!

    (First, two notes: 1) I play a gnome warlock and 2) Yes, I’m a clicker)

    We were trying to get Gluth down for the first time and were on attempt two or three. Kiters were struggling and a few healers/DPSers were getting smacked and killed. The raid leader called out that if everyone who was still alive *stayed* alive, we’d probably still make it.

    I’m feeling good, I’m in a groove, we’ve got this! I glance down at my mana bar and realize I need to life tap. Move the mouse up, hit the button… and realized I had timed that to tap exactly as decimate hit. By some stroke of luck I have 47 health left and had a brief moment of, “Haha WoW Gods! That was lucky!” So while I’m turning to cast off some AoE I move to click my healthstone and get a few HP back. Only I hit Hellfire by accident.

    *cough*

    Later, the raid leader asked me in vent how I died:

    “Me? Oh uh… I might have casthellfireandAOEdmyselftodeath?”

    To this day, when a guildie sees me at 5% health or below, one of them will scream “Hellfire Jae! Hellfire!!”

Leave a Reply

