I don’t get mad, I get stabby.

When we put together a static group with my sister and her husband, I decided to try my hand at playing a rogue.   I confess — for a long time I didn’t enjoy playing her.  She wasn’t remotely competitive with the mage and shaman on the dps meters, since she was limited to single targets, and often mobs were dead before I got close enough to hit them, so I spent a lot of time frustrated.  As she got into her 40’s and 50’s, it started to get much better.  Her spec matured and I figured out how to deal with her limitations (and mine, as a new melee player).  I even started topping the meters on some of the single target fights.  (Not that I have to be at the top; I just want to be competitive.)

We recently hit level 57, having slogged through BRD and the first wing of Dire Maul.  My husband, who has been tanking for us, tossed out the idea of folks swapping in different characters before we moved on to Outland.  It would be perfect timing, for example, if someone wanted to bring in a death knight.  They’d hardly need to level — just do the DK starting area and go.  It does sort of fly in the face of the “let’s start at level 10 and push to 80 together” idea that we started with, but he wanted a break from tanking.  Since I wasn’t completely in love with my rogue, I decided to give death knight tanking a try.  (I’ll save those omgnoobtank stories for another day though. ;) )

Since my rogue was now free to play on her own, I decided I might try my hand at some pvp and level her in the battlegrounds.  I spent some time at shadowpanther.net looking at gear and specs and then sent my priest to the heirloom vendors to pick up some goodies for her.  Six heirloom purchases later (shoulders, chest, two melee weapons, a gun, and a trinket), my rogue was ready to hit the battlegrounds for the very first time.

I queued for Warsong Gulch first since it was the daily.  It popped almost immediately and I zoned into the base for a fresh match.  Scanning the list of horde players, it didn’t seem we had many healers, which worried me.  (This is why I like healing BG’s, generally.  Few people seem to be willing to do it and it can make a huge difference.) I surveyed my cast bar a final time to make sure I knew where vanish and sprint were.  The gates opened and off we went.

I won’t do a play by play of the whole match, but there were some great moments for me. I loved sneaking around, incapacitating the enemy’s healers, and sapping people when they thought they were alone and safe.  Once, I came upon a scene midfield where there was an Alliance DK and his druid healer descending upon on one of our guys (can’t remember what class).  I dismounted and stealthed up behind the DK and sapped him before he entered combat.  I then helped my teammate dispose of the druid and then we destroyed the DK together.  Ahh… it was lovely.

On one of the flag runs, I was the lone player guarding our flag carrier. He and I ran to the top of our base and I stealthed around, waiting for attackers.  I killed a rather persistent warlock a few times, but the best kill was the paladin.  As he approached our flag carrier, I sneaked up behind him, cheap-shotted him and then bludgeoned him with hemorrhage and eviscerate so speedily that he didn’t have time to heal, bubble, or anything.  The flag carrier said, “wow good rogue.”  Bwahaha…we won that BG 3-0.

This really whetted my appetite for pvp, though of course all the BG matches haven’t gone this smoothly.  There was a WSG where an Alliance DK had something like 8000 hit points and was basically untouchable.  Some on our team even suggested that he was twinked.  “How much do you have to suck to twink a DK?” they said.  I saw plenty of heirloom shoulders in the base when we were buffing before the match — not like we had room to talk.  “I think he has purples,” someone else said. I looked him up and, no, he has no purples.  He has mostly starting DK gear, a couple quest items, and some engineering stuff.  Nothing too crazy.  I suppose it goes to show how powerful DK’s are out of the starting gate.  I was unfortunate enough to go toe-to-toe with him at one point and he killed me in two shots.  Ow!

I have also run few Arathi Basins and quite a few Alterac Valleys, which have been fun.  As a priest in AV, I always stayed in the thick of things.  Even if everyone abandoned before capping, I had to go, too, because I could never defend anything alone.  As a rogue, I have a few more tricks at my disposal.  I still find myself missing psychic scream, but I suppose I can’t have everything.  :)

Anyway, she’s now 59 and feeling strong, but will soon find herself at the bottom of the bracket again.  I’m looking forward to the climb to 80.  It’s been a while since I’ve felt this way about leveling!  Probably all the extra adrenaline.

/stabby

5 responses

  1. Hey congrats,
    From the time they could enter Battlegrounds, two of my guildmates; wife and husband have leveled there Rogues mainly through Battlegrounds.

    When I saw them online a few days ago they were both level 76. They created those Rogues last month. BG’s are so much fun. I like all the BG’s but Arathi Basin is my favorite. I mainly go in there as a PvP Disc Priest.

  2. Rogues are great toons, grats on your success as being an ex Rogue I understand how complex they are to play (not the facerolling ret paladin type).

  3. Wow, must be something in the water. I’ve been leveling my own rogue doing mainly the BG’s.

    Daxynn (level 34) just passed the 5,000 kill mark, so I must be doing something right. Of course the multitude of Heirloom items sure don’t hurt.

    Dax

  4. @deimonia

    Ooh, I loved running BG’s with my priest as disc. I felt invincible (until I ran out of mana, anyway). I’m back to holy now and really miss Penance.

    It’s tough for me to choose a favorite BG now. I used to hate Warsong Gulch, but as a rogue, it is a total blast. Arathi Basin is definitely a contender. :)

    @pitrelli

    Yeah, rogues do have a lot of tricks at their disposal for getting out of sticky situations. I’m getting much better at remembering to use all of them.

    I love messing with people, too. My favorite is following a player who has strayed from the group and sapping them repeatedly, not attacking them right away. My guild accuses me of playing with my food.

    I haven’t tried a pally in pvp yet, but going up against them is annoying. The prot/holy ones can be tough to kill unless I’m able to sneak up on them and stack a nice kidney shot on them.

    @Dax

    Grats on the 5K! Still working toward that mark so far.

    The heirlooms help a lot, I think, especially if you picked up any of the resilience ones. Lots of folks running the BG’s while leveling don’t have resilience, I suspect.

    Which professions did you choose?

    *rogue stealth sound*

Leave a Reply

