Reader’s Poll: Best Class for Farming?

Yesterday I was listening to one of the latest World of Warcast podcasts (not the latest one in the blog there — looks like that hasn’t been updated since last year), and one thing that Starman mentioned was that in his experience, if one is looking to make money, their time is better spent gathering and farming than doing the daily quests. In addition to whatever you’re intentionally collecting, there’s always the chance you’ll pick up something rare, an item, a gem, or something that is worth much more than what the dailies reward.

Some people hate farming, I know, and so it’s nice that the dailies offer an alternative for some steady cash. I’ve had to do a fair bit of mining recently for my paladin’s blacksmithing quests, and I actually found it to be fairly relaxing. This is probably good because I have a mighty army of alts to feed and take care of, many of whom will do their own farming, but after some point, I may designate one of my toons to be The Farmer that will be the major breadwinner. But which one?

I’ve done a bit of searching around, and the opinions are wide and varied on which class is the best for this sort of thing. Certainly some of it depends on what you’re farming, and of course player skill will also make a big difference.

What class do you think makes the best farmers? Most efficient? Most versatile? Most enjoyable? I’d love to hear your opinions on this.

6 responses

  1. I’m currently trying some experimenting with this on my own. My wife swears by her mage, but as my highest mage is 37, I can’t confirm that. A lot depends on the mobs to be farmed.

    For a random scattering of mobs, my hunter is great! Send in the pet, blast down the mobs, lather, rinse, repeat. Casters? Easy kill. Melee mobs? Can’t hurt me if you can’t touch me. If I’m feeling cocky, I’ll grab 2-3 mobs at once, but 1 mob at a time is the most efficient.

    For a nicely concentrated group of melee mobs, it’s hard to beat my protection paladin. It’s more a matter of how many mobs can I gather up without losing any. Blessing of Sanctuary, Righteous Fury, and Ret Aura before the pull, Judge Light and Seal Wisdom during the pull, then sit back and watch the mobs beat themselves to death. If things go wrong, toss a heal, a bubble, a potion, or lay on hands. Caster mobs are the AOE paladin’s bane – it’s mostly a matter of outlasting their mana so they’re forced to melee.

    I would never even consider farming on my prot warrior or my holy priest. It’s just too slow to be worthwhile.

  2. Depends on what you’re killing. I can farm almost anything on my druid, but it takes a while. It’s much faster to farm casters on my hunter and melee on my mage. I don’t have a high level rogue, so I don’t know about their capabilities, but I would think they are also a top farming class.

  3. I can farm primals on my ‘Lock without any problems at all. Motes of Air from the elementals near the shadowcloth altar in Shadowmoon all die to 3 dots, and Motes of Water from the eels in the lake near shat only need 2 dots. Dot up 2 or 3 of them and then Howl of Terror and then loot.

    Most other mobs I can just DoT and fear, then move onto the next one. If they bring friends it’s normally great, as it saves me time going to get them. The only down time I have is when I have to go off to find bodies to loot.

    Anything under 67 (68 at a push) will usually not require anything other than my instant DoT’s, and with Drain Life, Dark Pact and LifeTap I rarely (if ever) have to stop to drink\eat\bandage.

    For my needs, the Lock provides everything I want, the only thing I would like was to have a gathering prof as well so that I could make some more money while grinding

  4. I have a hunter a rogue and a priest at 70 – and I must confess I finished levelling my hunter solely for farming purposes. Lots of escape tactics, the ability to track particular types of mobs, a built in tank, movement buff talents and abilities, what’s not to like?

    Throw in herbalism/alchemy and my hunter is definitely the provider of my group. Now, if only he were Tauren. πŸ˜‰

    I hear mages are quite good for burning down large groups of mobs and stealing their shoes.

  5. Thanks for the feedback, folks!

    @Joel

    I’ve had great luck with my hunter so far, particularly if the mobs are just a level or two lower than I am. Farming with my mage has felt much less efficient, but maybe it’s because she’s lower level and is not geared as well. She has to stop and drink a lot after all the AoEs. The videos I’ve seen of protection pallies taking on loads of mobs are pretty impressive, too. Maybe one day once my prot paladin is at 70, I’ll give some of that stuff a try. πŸ™‚

    @Flaime

    Seems like rogues would be good because you’d have to kill less to get to the objective if it’s a chest, ore, herb, or whatever. Seems like the hunters, mages, and the like would be more efficient if you’re hoping to plunder mobs en masse.

    @Pike

    Hehe… you and your hunters make me smile! πŸ™‚ The other bonus of hunters, in addition to the quick killing, is the ability to track mobs. Makes it much easier if you’re looking for something specific.

    @Dan

    The warlock is the most appealing to me at this point, but it is the one class I don’t currently have represented in my little army. Maybe that’s why I’m gravitating toward that class? (Am I looking for an excuse to roll one?) πŸ˜‰ Thanks!

    @Bruthah

    My hunter may end up being my real farmer, just by virtue of her being my highest level character. For now, she’ll be able to farm the best stuff and make the most money for me. I still can’t decide whether she’s my “main” or not though.

Leave a Reply

