Bringing up the Rear

Work has been unusually busy this week, as we prepared for a site visit that included giving presentations, receiving evaluations, and generally trying to impress. Much of Monday and Tuesday were spent preparing for this, so I’ve hardly had a chance to read anything WoW-related in days. *twitch* The visit was yesterday, and after it was done, I had a nice evening of decompression through destruction with the Purple Poxer team. This is the episode in which Madja brings up the rear. (Those last few words will bring in some interesting traffic, I’m betting. Sorry to disappoint again! šŸ˜‰ )

The first order of business was a quick RFC run. Wara had a few connection problems just as we were getting started, so Daxe amused us with raid markings. Look out, little squirrel!

pox-skullsquirrel

Shortly after, Wara rejoined us. Look out, little Wara!

pox-skullwara

Needless to say, we crushed RFC. Taragaman dropped the Cursed Felblade once again (another shard for Daxe!), and Jergosh once again gave up the Robes of Evocation, this time for Salindiar. When we were telling the guild of Sal’s new duds, Daxe made a funny… šŸ™‚

pox-daxeshoulders

By the time we emerged from RFC, everyone had hit 16, so folks decided to train. Since there’s no druid trainer in Org, I decided to visit the weapons trainer instead, dump a few things in the bank, make repairs… and the next thing I knew, they were saying, “Crossroads? Ok, go,” and I saw four little dots fly off the minimap in a little train. Oh no! Lagging behind! Bringing up the rear! (Here we go with the bear butt jokes again. It’s just too easy.) Seriously, it seems like I am always lagging behind the group for one reason or another. I don’t think I’m the only one who will be relieved when I get travel form. šŸ˜›

When I caught up, we did the tour of oases around the Barrens. Time for a swim! “CANNONBALL!”

pox-cannonball

The water was quite nice and warm. (No, that wasn’t me!)

pox-bubbles

As we ran back to Crossroads, I noticed that once again, I was the caboose. D’oh! *huff puff*

pox-caboose

We coupled our next swim with turtle-killing. I barely did any fighting because I was trailing the group, skinning the kills. (Cleaning up the environment, right?) Fortunately, the shells we were collecting had a 100% drop rate, so it didn’t take too long.

On our way to the raptors, we spotted a melee hunter. Hide your eyes, BRK!

pox-meleehunter

The raptor horns did take a while for all of us to collect. There were a few times that I ended up off on my own. As a level 16 who hasn’t spent any talent points, killing a level 18 raptor was pretty slow going, so I’m not sure this would have been much faster if I’d done it solo. Being able to obliterate several raptors at a time really sped up the whole collection process. I ended up with loads and loads of leather, too, so I thought it was worth it. All that said, I am relieved that we’re going to avoid as many collection quests as we can.

After our raptor de-horning (and depopulation) effort was complete, we ran up the coast to Ratchet, turned in the quest, and then flew to the Crossroads. I didn’t arrive last this time, but Harisan and I were the last to run to the edge of town to join the group. Am I not paying attention? What is my problem?

On the run to Wailing Caverns, I made a specific effort to not fall behind. And look! I’m not last!

pox-racing1

Aaaand to be totally honest, I wasn’t first either.

pox-racing2

We killed some raptors outside the instance, and of course, it was super easy. Remember when those were elites? Sheesh! We were able to finished the 99-Year-Old port quest pretty quickly, and then we made our way back to the Crossroads and flew to Ratchet to turn it in. /train

pox-lazytrain2

We ended the night with a brief dance party in Ratchet. Our group photo of the week:

pox-ratchetdance

As usual, Daxe wowed the local boys with her dance moves. Shake it, sister!

daxedance1daxedance2

Good fun all around. I do think that instances are where the real fun are for this group, however, so I’m really looking forward to next week. Hopefully we can jump right into Wailing Caverns, and if we manage a complete run, that would be amazing. We seem to work really well together, so I think we can do it.

One consideration for the Purple Poxers reading this… Fearing that inventory space will be a little tight for a longer instance like WC, I peeked in the AH for some bags that were a little bigger (yet affordable). I found that mageweave bags (12-slotters) were going for about 1.5 gold or less. I’ve made a fair amount of cash flipping recipes and other stuff, so I decided to pick up some for myself, and I picked up some extras, too. I’d be more than happy to help buy bags for other folks, because we’re going to end up picking up a lot of stuff in WC. Just let me know if you’d like me to send you some!

Other accounts of our adventures from last night:

RFC is sooooooooo last week

Curse This Cursed Felblade!

Purple Wednesday

You should also check out this awesome recap by Rabbit of the Yellow Poxless team’s recent adventures. Hee!

5 responses

  1. Happy bear dance!

    And you haven’t spent any talent points yet? Assuming you’re going feral, I’d suggest either Furor or Ferocity as your first 5 points, and then start working on whichever one you didn’t grab for your next 5 points.

    http://www.wowinsider.com/2008/01/15/shifting-perspectives-leveling-and-talent-specs/

    This is a pretty good article covering how to spend your talent points while leveling. He talks a bit about end-game raiding builds in the beginning, but toward the end of the article there’s a heading called “Leveling Talent Choices” that could be of some use to you.

    Of course Balance is fun too, though I’ve never leveled that way (not till hitting Outland anyway).

    Sorry to monopolize your comment board… I just get excited about druids. šŸ™‚

  2. Well, I have a confession to make…..I’m not sporting Daxe Fifth Ave bags.

    There, I said it! I found a good deal a while back on lesser quality bags, so I should be all right…if they don’t rip from having someone’s rotten head in them, that is….

    Daxe

  3. @Nas

    Yay! I was hoping you’d weigh in on the talent points. I’m definitely looking for advice as we play, too, if I’m approaching things all wrong. I’m a n00b dr00d, for sure (“oh, I can’t use swords?”), and I’ve never played any melee DPS in a group either. This is part of the reason I’d like to try feral DPS, as opposed to balance. I think I’m a caster at heart, so I might switch to balance later, but we’ll see.

    @Dax

    Hehe… so many secrets!!! Really, given how much money you’ve made on Anvilmar so far, I’d be surprised if you had anything smaller than netherweave bags. I was eyeballing those myself, though I’m not quite ready to splurge on them yet. (They were about 7G each last time I looked.) Maybe I’ll see what the weekends sales are like… šŸ™‚

  4. @Ess
    One other thing I didn’t even think of at the time, since I just saw it was a sword and knew you couldn’t equip it… the DPS of a weapon doesn’t affect your DPS when in form. Your attacks are based on stats: strength, agility, and raw attack power. That sword didn’t have any stats at all, only a “chance on hit”, which is also useless to druids in form. So, regardless of the fact that you couldn’t equip it, it would have done nothing for you unless you were swinging it in your regular Tauren form.

    So, don’t think of your weapon as a weapon, because you’re not going to be using it as such. It’s just like any other slot that you’re using to help boost your stats. Chance on hit is useless, DPS doesn’t matter. Just stats! Stats stats stats!

  5. Daxe’s end pictures (literally) had me singing

    “shake it, shake it like a polaroid picture”

    @Daxe…kid, you ain’t sportin’ much at all in these pictures šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

