Shattered Pug

My hunter’s quest log is a mess, but I didn’t feel much like questing last night. (I think I really just don’t like the Blade’s Edge Mountains zone. It’s boring.) Instead, I did some dailies, farmed motes and leather in Nagrand, defended Halaa a bit, and put myself in the LFG for a few instances where I still had quests to complete. I finally got a bite for a regular Shattered Halls run around 9:30 pm. This was a bit late to be starting an instance on a week night, and Shattered Halls is a pretty tough instance, but what the heck…

To my great surprise, the pug was awesome. Like, amazingly good. I wondered if my pug members had secretly been replaced by guildmates. We had a druid tanking and priest healing, with my hunter, a mage, and a warlock supplying DPS and crowd control. We had a few screw-ups early on (the warlock’s succubus pulled an entire room, so we all had to run out of the instance), but after that the crowd control was good and even when we accidentally pulled a group of 8 instead of 5, we improvised well. As a bonus, the tank always re-marked the current kill target with a skull, so it was clear what we should be firing at next. There were a fair number of compliments going around (particularly to the healer), and the tank also gave a bit of advice to folks about what was happening along the way to those new to the instance.

During one of the early pulls, the blue square I was trapping either resisted the trap or broke it early. I’d already set a second trap, but the tank grabbed aggro on the mob before it ran into it. I did manage to get aggro on it again, but by then, the timing on the traps was a bit screwy and … well, it just didn’t go perfectly. After all the mobs were dead, the tank said, “Please keep trapping the blue square and putting the succubus on the pink diamond. Keep the CC going.”

“Yep, that’s my intent,” I said. “If the square isn’t trapped, it’s because it resisted the trap or it’s on its way to a second trap.”

“Succy, too,” said the tank.

“K,” said the warlock.

We continued on through the gauntlet, and the tank let us know we should keep moving and conserve some mana for the big fight at the end of the hall. I didn’t remember this earlier when I was relaying the story to my husband, but I’m remembering now that someone said, “don’t worry about mana — I have some tricks up my sleeve if we get low.” I think the priest then died during the battle, at which point someone (maybe the tank?) quipped, “Maybe we should conserve health instead.” The priest was soulstoned, so they resurrected and we all buffed again.

Just before the room with the gladiator packs, there were a few afks, bios, etc. I left briefly to refill my water glass, and when I came back, there was a fight going on. I jumped right in, and everyone seemed to be back except the mage. I didn’t say I was back because I knew the mage wasn’t back yet, and I’ve noticed that sometimes, as soon as the first person says they’re back, the pug just pushes forward. “Is everyone back?” asked the priest.

“I am, but <mage> is still afk,” I said.

“A ready check would have been appropriate,” said the priest.

“Just picking off a few lone guys in there,” said the tank. “Easy to handle, and I’d like to keep us moving.”

The mage returned and the tank marked the next big pull for us…

Now, the way the room is situated, there are four pockets of guys fighting each other along the sides. I ran this instance with my guild, so know that you’re supposed to wait until their health is low from fighting each other before pulling, and then you can burn them down pretty quickly, no CC necessary. The guild group wiped a few times before getting their timing right on this, so I was pretty sure this pug would wipe a few times, too.

The odd thing was that the tank didn’t mark the nearest set of fighters on the left — he marked the next group further up. Hm. Maybe he knew we could skip the closer group? (In the guild run, we talked about skipping all of them, but the daily required that we kill some of them, so we didn’t.) The tank pulled, and the further group grabbed the closer group as they ran by… uh-oh.

Tank: oops LOL RUN!!!

I started to run, thought of my upcoming repair bill and tried to feign death, but was immediately pummeled by the pack of angry gladiators. Hehehe… it was kind of funny. Not as funny as when the apes in Stranglethorn chase me, but still, a funny beatdown to witness.

As we were doing our corpse run, the priest said:

“Maybe if you spent a little more time studying the next pull and less time telling people how to play their class, things like this wouldn’t happen.”

😮

Tank: “Are you kidding?”

Priest: “No, I’m not.”

Tank: “I was just offering some advice since we have people that have never done this instance before.”

Priest :”You should have some faith that people who are level 70 are capable of playing their class.”

(Hahaha… ok, this person must not pug very much. 😛 )

Priest: “You said you were offering constructive criticism, and I hope now you are willing to accept some yourself.”

Tank: “<mage> said she was new. I just wanted to let her know what was going to happen next.”

Priest: “Heh, my point stands.”

Priest has left the party.

NOOOOOOOOO!!!! 😦

The tank said he might have a replacement healer if folks wanted to wait a sec, but the mage said, “I guess we’re done” and left the party, and the warlock followed moments later. Dammit, with that group, we definitely could have finished the instance. From my point-of-view, that was a really good pug. From the priest’s? I guess it wasn’t…

After all the stupidity (and illiteracy) I’ve seen lately in the BGs, maybe I’m a bit more open to dealing with the kind of advice the tank was doling. I also realize that the hunter class is very easy to level, and it’s very possible that someone could get all the way to 70 as a beastmastery hunter without ever having to chain trap anything in an instance. He told me something I knew, I told him I already knew it, done, no big deal. Last night I was thinking the priest may have been offended on my or the warlock’s behalf, but remembering some other things that happened (memory jogged as I was writing this), he may have been personally offended by some of the other stuff. Or he must have thought we were all incompetent. Either he has much better luck with pugs than I do, or he rarely pugs at all. Frankly, I go into pugs with pretty low expectations, so I thought this group was a delight. I wonder what percentage of pugs this guy ends up bailing on in a huff?

After, I told my guild about it, and one person said, “text is a funny thing — people can read a lot of things into it that aren’t there.” True. I guess if the priest thought the tank was crap, he was reading his comments with a different tone than the rest of us were. I stuck around in the group for a bit after the priest left and assured the tank I didn’t find his comments offensive. “I wasn’t trying to be patronizing,” the tank said. “I was trying to help.” Oh well.

2 responses

  1. Having levelled a Priest (up to 62) before I know for a fact that anytime I got into a PUG that many people often tried to offer advice on how to heal (as well as to others). But having played my class quite a bit (at the time) I felt confident in what I was doing and after repeated ‘advice’ over a longer period of time, I got very sick of it and eventually wrote a macro that said “You tank/dps, I’ll heal.” If after that, it kept up I’d leave the party too.

    So I can understand where the Priest was coming from. At the same time, most people aren’t trying to be know-it-alls when they offer help, but they can come across that way.

    Nowadays I pretty much say if the tank can hold aggro, the healer can keep everyone alive and the dps can kill the mobs before the healer runs out of mana, then why not leave well enough alone. The odd wipe happens and you deal with that. Obviously, if one of those three legs of the tripod is repeatedly failing, there are problems, but if ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Am I right?

  2. Yep, I agree. I thought we were doing fine, too, and if anyone was on the receiving end of too much advice, it was not the priest. After a messy pull it was advice for ‘lock and hunter and a “good job!” to the priest. Clearly something rubbed them the wrong way though. I didn’t feel that he crossed the line, but I guess all our lines are drawn differently.

    And thinking back, I left a group like that once, too. (I looked back to see if it made the blog, but it didn’t.) I was in an instance and a pattern dropped. One of the other folks said, “Can I need?” Someone else said, “No,” and the person asked why. I said, “some of us have alts with that profession.” Just as I clicked enter (so they probably didn’t even see what I wrote), the person clicked need anyway and won the roll since the rest of us had just greeded. I was really pissed. I said, “Fine. Good luck.” I left the party. I could see the ninja /say, “No wait, let’s reroll,” but I was already hearthing out.

    Did I overreact? Probably, but the response was to more than just the immediate situation. It reflected how I was feeling about all the crappy pugs, greed rolls on BoPs, and other ninja antics I’d encountered lately.

Leave a Reply

