AH shenanigans

There are quite a few blogs out there offering tips and tricks for making big bucks (no whammies) in the WoW Auction House. These aren’t on my daily reading list because I already have my own set of tricks and markets I like to exploit. It also seems to me that by the strategies being posted, there’s a chance they may be useless anyway. (If I posted what I liked to buy and flip, potentially everyone could start doing it, supply would increase, prices would go down, and it wouldn’t be as lucrative for me any more.) I realize that the players creating these blogs are doing so because they’ve already made all the money they need, and want to help others do the same. Not me. I still need cash for my first epic flying mount.

But anyway, by the time Friday rolls around, I get to these blogs as I’m clearing out my feed reader. This morning on WoW Economist (formerly WoW Investor), I saw an article on controlling markets that made me chuckle, because I saw someone trying to do this on my server this past week, only they weren’t being very smart about it.

The market? Shadowgems. Back when I was leveling jewelcrafting, shadowgems were selling for about 90 silver a pop. The price would dip a bit on weekends, and if it was 75s or lower, that shadowgem was mine. I leveled up my jewelcrafting past the point where I needed them, and then of course that’s when I started finding lots of them while mining. I stored them in my bank in case any of my alts or guildmates needed them.

Fast forward. Bank space was getting tight, and I decided I should start selling off the lower level gems. Hey, I thought, it’s time to make up for that money I spent on shadowgems before by selling them now! I decided to sell them off one at a time, hopefully for 90s a piece, but by this time, the market had been flooded and they were down to 10s each. Gah. So, I decided to be patient. I kept them and peeked in on the prices whenever I remembered.

My bank alt is a mess right now, so in trying to clear her bags this past week, I noticed that stack of shadowgems once again. I was happily surprised to find that there were quite a few shadowgems posted for 95s 50c, and then there were just a handful of lower priced ones, some for 30s and one that was just 5s. I posted one for 95s, and then switched toons to play for a while. When I came back, my shadowgem had been purchased by the 95s 50c seller. Well, that works. 🙂 I reloaded the AH to find that the 95s 50c seller had posted more shadowgems. The 30s and 5s ones were also gone, so I suspect that seller bought up mine and all the other lower priced ones and reposted. them Nice idea, except there were already a bunch more posted, including a few for 50s. I posted another for 95s. Hee hee hee… and repeat. Each time I posted, there were several at lower prices, but I always posted mine at 95s, and he bought them from me (and everyone else) again, and again, and again…

This continued all throughout the week until all my shadowgems were sold. This poor sap was trying to control a market for while there was an endless supply. As the WoW Economist points out, in order to control a market “there needs to be an obvious lack of a certain item that is usually in regular need.” Heheh…

So, maybe instead of farming primals, I should go mining and prospecting to collect shadowgems! I know I have a buyer until this dude figures out that his scheme has failed. I’ve noticed him buying up some of my other items as well, so there’s going to be a fierce spring cleaning of the bank alt this weekend. In fact, I may search for all this guy’s auctions and see what else I can potentially sell him. 😉

6 responses

  1. It’s amazing how much money you can make, just by cleaning out your bank alt. When I was getting ready to transfer servers, I had WAY more stuff than I could take with me. I had a few random motes, a few green quality gems, one stack of each old-world herb (kept them in stock to make elixirs and pots for alts), an Essence Focuser I’d been holding onto for my 2nd druid but had never equipped, some enchanting mats… and just other random things. I made about 1200g, and that was undercutting most things pretty bad, simply because I wanted them to sell the first time around.

    So go through your bank alts and ask yourself… am I REALLY going to use this? If not, if it’s a “just in case” item… cha-ching!

  2. Great post Ess! It totally made me chuckle. So I guess you strategy for making money in WoW then is to find a mark and totally take him for all he’s worth! Love it!

  3. @Nas

    You’re so right! I posted a bunch of stuff this weekend, and what little of it sold went for quite a lot (for example, one of the daggers I had went for 60G! Woo!). Now I just need to keep at it on the reposting of what didn’t sell. I’ve basically gone through and determined which alts are and aren’t going to happen on that realm, and worked from there.

    @Fikkle

    Hee hee hee… that’s right! 😀

  4. Weekends always have better sales and items tend to sell for more gold.

    One thing to be careful with “fixing the market” is that it can be banable. Now bliz isn’t going to ban someone who buys stuff that is under priced and relist it. But if your continually buying all of one item and jacking up the price 2-3 times, you could possibly get in trouble.

    I don’t know how strict the line is, but just something to keep in mind.

  5. I notice that while I’m able to move more items over the weekends, they tend to go for less with the exception of certain raiding consumables. Demand is generally higher, but so is supply.

    I definitely don’t advocate fixing the market either; above, I was talking about someone else that I’d observed trying to fix the market. As they tried to buy up all the lower priced gems and fix the price, I was selling them mine.

    Thanks for your comment!

  6. lol i had that same thing, 3 blokes were trying to controll the sale of netherweave bags, posting them at 13 gold, think over 2 weeks they avtually bought around 600-700 of my bags posted at 9-10 gold, so thanks to them lol,

Leave a Reply

