Or maybe not back?

So.

My previous job gave me loads of internet reading time, particularly toward the end of my stint there.  The job involved working on long term, slowly progressing projects, nesting work on each to give myself busy days.  On well-planned days, I had zero downtime, but as I lost interest in the job, I planned things less and less well.  When I decided to quit the job, I stopped starting new projects and in the last months, I was messing around on the internet almost full time.  Heaven, yes?  No, not really.  I actually started to get bored toward the end, and part of this was anxiousness to start the next thing, which I couldn’t really do until after the holidays.

I had no idea whether this new “job,” working at home as a freelance writer and editor, would leave me with more or less time for internet shenanigans.  I suspected things would be slow in the beginning, so I’d certainly keep blogging.  I also thought that trying not to play WoW during the days was going to take some serious will power. I’ve found it’s the opposite, however.  The days go by very quickly and I’m working all day on writing and editing stuff, preparing short proposals to bid for projects, producing samples for potential hirers, and looking for opportunities.  It doesn’t even occur to me to play games. You know that beautiful mental zone where you’re completely absorbed in something, so much so that you don’t notice time passing?  I’m in that zone all day now, though not with WoW or another hobby… I’m in that zone in my job.  I’d always hoped for this!

I know, it’s the beginning and the honeymoon may very well end.  I’m having a total blast though.  It does mean, however, that I’m finding very little time to blog.  I’ve not even managed to visit I Can Haz Cheezburger regularly.  Amazing.

I will try to put up a couple posts per week though.  I’m hopelessly behind on my feed reader though…

4 responses

  1. How hard has it been for you to break into freelance editing & writing? I’ve been doing it on the corporate level for about 10 years now, but am thinking about going independent. What would be your suggestions?

  2. @KC

    Thanks! It is really nice not to dread Mondays any more. I do miss reading and writing with the WoW blogging community though.

    @Cait

    Thankies! Definitely a better situation — I am much happier these days. Because of this, I don’t feel myself rushing into WoW each night like I did before. It’s no longer necessary in the same way. It’s still a fun game, but less an escape that I mentally require. Hm… I feel a post coming on. 🙂

    @Kusamoto

    I wouldn’t say I’ve broken into it quite yet, so it’s hard to say. I have gotten a few small jobs through bid sites, but I still spend a lot more time looking for work than actually working. I’m still trying to establish myself and develop a client base. I think the benefit of working through a company is that although you may not always get exactly the assignments you’d like, there’s the potential for steady work. I do have a gig as a subcontractor for a company that hires writers and editors with expertise in my previous field (which legitimized this otherwise radical career change), but I haven’t gotten a single assignment from them yet.

    All that said, it sounds like you’d have some pretty significant advantages going into it as an independent. Between those 10 years of writing and editing experience, references from those you’ve worked with at the corporate level, and a portfolio of work, you’ll potentially have an easier time attracting clients than I’ve had. I came in with a PhD and the loads of writing experience that went along with that, but it’s not quite the same as having been paid specifically to write.

    If you can, I’d suggest dabbling in some independent work on the side and making the transition slowly. Some folks think the move I made was a bit on the crazy side, giving up a job with steady pay in this economy. In some ways, I tend to agree with them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

