Wowclsp: Combat Log Separation Made Easy

When I was mainly DPSing, I was great about remembering to upload our raid stats each week. I’d parse them immediately after the raid (sometimes while still in ventrilo) to see how I did.  As a healer, I often wait a day or two.  Since I look at the numbers less closely, too, I sometimes forget to click through every process in the World of Logs uploader client, so the old combatlog doesn’t get deleted.  When I record the new combat log for the next raid, it doesn’t overwrite anything — it appends the new numbers to the old file.  This means that .txt file gets very large and unwieldly.

Up until now, I’ve been manually separating, deleting, and re-saving parts of the combatlog when this happens.   I do all this text shuffling in Notepad, which you’d think would be a quick process, but it’s really not.  That program doesn’t handle files of a few  hundred megabytes very easily.  Selecting, cutting, and deleting text is a bit of an ordeal and sometimes it gives me errors.  Other times, I have to walk away from my computer for a minute to let it do its thing, because it pretty much locks everything up. (This makes me want to deal with the stats even less, causing me to put it off.)

Nibuca posted yesterday about the addon CLSaver, which automatically turns on combat log recording each time you enter dungeon when you’re part of a raid group.  Very nice, since I often miss the data from the first pull (or first wipe, hehe) when I forget to turn it on.  She also posted a link to some advice from The Stoppable Force about how to automatically archive (and split) the combat log file.  I was intrigued;  this is exactly what I need.  I skimmed over his instructions and … well, it looks helpful if you’re confident with running scripts, but it looked a bit daunting to me.  Then, a comment from AeroWow solved everything for me:   Wow Combatlog Splitter.

I tried this application this morning on a bloated combatlog file that had 4-5 raids in it and it magically split and labeled them in a matter of seconds. I then uploaded each of them to World of Logs and my work was done.  Wooow.   I think I might be in love.

So, for all you stats collectors, CLSaver + Wowclsp is a magical combination.  Try it!

One response

  1. At the risk of throwing more tools into your sandbox:

    An alternative to Wowclsp is Fuster’s Log Splitter (http://www.codeplex.com/fusterslogsplitter), though I personally prefer the former.

    An alternative to CLSaver is LoggerHead (http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info9665-LoggerHead.html), and I personally prefer the latter.

    And, more importantly, how to deal with EXTREMELY large files, that even Wowclsp or Fuster’s reject due to an exceedingly large file size: Vim (http://www.vim.org/). Vim is a very powerful text editor that can handle extraordinarily large file sizes. I once could not extract a log out of a generated file that I’d let grow out of manageable dimensions – the Wow-generated file was up to about 1.25 GB of data, if I remember correctly. Vim, while still struggling somewhat on handling the file, was able to isolate just the data that I needed.

    =D

Leave a Reply

