LFM for Pox Arcanum

Pox Arcanum is looking for a few more good folks to join our merry band of adventurers. We’re an alt guild for bloggers (and a few non-bloggers, spouses, and such) who are looking to hang out and play together each week. To get started, all you need to do is roll a brand new toon on Anvilmar, level them to 10, wait for your group to fill out, and then begin your questing. The original idea was that from this point on, your toon never levels without the rest of your group present. (Some teams are more flexible about this than others, so in the end, it’s between you and your other four teammates.) You do all quests, instances, and leveling together — this is the anti-pug! The idea here is not to level efficiently, get to the end game quickly, or maximize … well, anything but fun. The idea is to play together and have a good time. 🙂

We decided that we’d be self-sufficient (in other words, no transferring a sugardaddy character with boatloads of money to your lil level 10 toon). At first this was tough, but some of the Poxers have managed to play the Anvilmar AH very successfully, and now not only do we have tabards for everyone, we have two (yes two!) guild bank tabs, one completely full of items that Poxers want to share with each other. Everyone has equal access to the bank tabs, so if you see something in there that will upgrade your gear or benefit your profession, it’s yours. It seems like every time I visit the bank there’s more gold, more greens, more goodies. Folks have really embraced the communal spirit. (Hey, that sounds like a druid quest!)

We currently have three full teams of five, a few “visiting” guild members, and a team that has some open spots. These really are intended to be alts, so teams typically meet once, maybe twice, a week for a play session. This could be a regular weekly time decided by the team, or they could have a more fluid arrangement and just schedule week to week based on team availability. We have a common blog, an e-mail group, and some really nifty spreadsheets. There’s also room for you to try your own experimental grouping tactics within these teams. The Purple Poxer team, for example, is talking about leveling almost exclusively in instances. Want to try working exclusively as a group of three, and form the ultimate tank/healer/dps trinity? Go for it. Want to rally for an all druid group? Rock it! I will make you all matching leather outfits. 😀 And maybe soooomeday, we’ll have a team in Kara. Can you imagine? We shall put a pox on it!

Anyway, if you are interested, please pop your info into our nifty new application page, and we’ll get you started. If you have more questions, post those, too, or send me an e-mail at the address in the side bar to the right.

/pox contagious!

12 responses

  1. I love the idea of group leveling. I play WOW primarily for the social aspect and this would allow me to meet more people outside of my main guild. I would love to join this guild and give this a whirl.

    I currently play on the Eonar realm (Shnozgratz, Czanthon, Xanthon, and a few more). I do not have a character on Anvilmar, but it would take very little time to push one to level 10. If you still have a need for people and I fit the bill, please let me know at mike@nouhan.net and I can roll a toon to fit in with a new group.

    Thanks for you time,
    Mike

  2. I am very interested in getting in on this opportunity. I am not a blog writer, but I do read many of your blogs and have even commented on several of them.

    I have not done any instancing, and I have not leveled any characters above 45 to date, so my experience is limited. I have a pretty bad case of altoholism. I am more than willing to learn any class; Horde or Alliance though.

    If you are still looking for people, I would like to talk to one of you and see if we can match schedules up. feel free to contact me at tazbutane @ sbcglobal dot net.

    Thanks!
    Steve

  3. This is exactly the sort of thing I’ve been looking for. I’m leveling a warlock now, please let me know if a slot opens up for one.

    ~joe
    son of wau @ gmail . com

  4. I’d love to participate, but I’m going to gone on vacation for two weeks starting March 16th so I don’t think it would be fair to start something like this now.

    But a group of same-race same-class characters sound great! Personally I would go for blood-elf palladins.

  5. If you’re still looking for more, this sounds like an opportunity I’d be extremely interested in. I’ve been following the progress so far and would enjoy the opportunity to contribute.

    -Science

  6. *tap tap* I think I may be ready to give this a shot, Ess. No idea whatsoever what I’d roll–have never gone Horde, although a warrior (something other than my Hunter/Priest/Rogue trio) would probably do.

    One question: Could I bring a couple friends along?

    You know how to contact me. 😉

  7. Woohoo!!! Thanks for all the responses, everyone!

    Thanks to Game Dame, we now have an application form to help get you hooked up with the e-mail list and spreadsheets, so you can start forming your teams: Become a Poxer!

    @Morane

    Please go ahead and sign up, and put a note with your team info about what you’d like to do and when you can get started.

    @Kestrel

    Absolutely! The more the merrier. 😀 We’ll be very glad to have you aboard!

Leave a comment